Tags

, ,

  1. What are you reading now?

I tend to read a few books at a time. J K Rowling’s ‘Casual Vacancy’ is perhaps the most prominent at present, but I am also going through Dayan Jayatilleka’s ‘Long  War, Cold Peace’  to speak when it is launched. I have also got a collection of TinTins for relaxation.

  1. Who is your favorite author?

Identifying one would be difficult, but I would say Conrad and also Dickens.

  1. What book has had the most profound impact on your life? 

Difficult to remember, since books had a profound effect when I was much younger,  but I remember being enthralled by Thackeray’s ‘Vanity Fair’ and realizing how fantastic was the world created by historical classics – by which I mean classics that also related to history.

  1. What book has inspired your life the most?

Again a difficult question, but perhaps Virginia Woolf’s ‘To the Lighthouse’, with its evocation of seminal moments, its account of time passing, and the use of symbols for human connectivity as well as aspirations.

  1. What is the book that has moved you the most?

I think Conrad’s ‘Lord Jim’, with its presentation of a man trying to live up to his image of himself, and the actions he takes to correct what he sees as shortcomings.

  1.  What is your most ‘feel good’ read? 

I am not sure what you mean by ‘feel good’, but I go back constantly to Enid Blyton, with her magical evocations of countryside as well as childhood adventure.

  1. What was your favorite childhood read? 

Apart from Enid Blyton, C S Lewis, E M Nesbitt and the William and Billy Bunter books.

  1. What is your favorite character in a book?

Not sure why you said ‘What’. If you mean individuals, David Copperfield, Prince Andrey in ‘War and Peace’, Dorothea in ‘Middlemarch.

  1. What is your favorite place to read a book in Colombo? 

I don’t read much in Colombo, but the question is strange, because I would assume one reads most at home. When I travel abroad, I always try to have a couple of days extra so I can read, since I find concentration easier when I am away.

  1. How much would you say you spend on books a year?

Hardly anything, since I borrow books a lot, and have a couple of friends who lend me excellent new publications.

Sunday Leader 7 April 2013 – http://www.thesundayleader.lk/2013/04/07/rajiva-wijesinhas-top-reads/

